Garwood DUI Attorney
Challenging a DWI ticket in New Jersey is a serious and complicated matter that can often take several months of ongoing litigation. Experience is a key factor when trying to properly defend and beat driving under the influence charges in this state. At the William Proetta Criminal Law we have successfully defended hundreds of clients against DWI charges throughout Union County and New Jersey. The firm’s founding attorney, Will Proetta is one of a handful of attorneys in the state of New Jersey that holds certification in the Alcotest administration and also possesses Instructor certification in Standard Field Sobriety Testing in accordance with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. These DWI defense credentials often work to our clients benefit because we can touch upon our knowledge and experience to better defend each case. If you would like to learn more about how our firm can help you or your loved one successfully fight your DUI charge, then contact our office at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation. We have representatives available 24 hours a day to answer your calls.
DWI Arrests in Garwood New Jersey
Garwood is a small suburban borough that processes a high amount of DWI charges for its tiny population. This is most likely due to the fact that the Garwood Police heavily patrol Rt. 28, the only major roadway that crosses through the small borough. If you have been arrested for DWI in Garwood then you will be required to appear in the Garwood Municipal Court which is located at 403 South Ave, Garwood, NJ. Court sessions are held on two Mondays of each month at 7:00 p.m. The court also maintains normal business throughout the week from Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The Borough of Garwood Municipal Court phone number is (908) 789-0780. The Honorable Antonio Inacio is the municipal court judge. Martha Marino is the Municipal Court Administrator and the court’s fax number is (908) 789-8414.
Drunk Driving Charges in Garwood
New Jersey has some of the toughest DWI punishments and procedures in the entire country. Most notably, New Jersey does not offer any plea-bargaining whatsoever for defendants charged with a DUI. And if you are convicted or plead guilty, you may be sentenced to a mandatory license suspension for a period ranging from 4 months for a first-time offender, to up to 8 years for a third or subsequent DWI offense. Lastly, if you choose to take your case to trial, you have no right to a jury trial for DWI offenses in this state. The best way to successfully defend your charges is to tactfully target weaknesses in the state’s case to create leverage. At William Proetta Criminal Law we make it our goal to meticulously comb through the state’s discovery to uncover technicalities and problems with the evidence against you. For instance, we are often able to get our clients breathalyzer readings suppressed by showing that the machine was not functioning properly or the police officers did not follow the exact protocol when administering the breathalyzer. This in turn can be used to dramatically lower the suspension period or in furtherance of a not guilty finding. Contact our office today at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation with an experienced defense attorney who answer your questions and address your concerns.