Reckless Driving Attorney in Hudson County
WEEHAWKEN NJ RECKLESS DRIVING ATTORNEY
There are few motor vehicle tickets in New Jersey that are as serious of Reckless Driving which can carry the possibility of a driver’s license suspension, 5 points on your driving record and even potential jail time. Reckless driving typically involves situations where there is “aggravating factors” because your driving resulted in accident or someone being hurt. Reckless is normally charged in tandem with other serious motor vehicle tickets such DWI, Leaving the Scene of an Accident, or Speeding. Our traffic defense attorneys are experienced at defending clients for reckless driving throughout Hudson County and its local municipal courts. If you have been charged with a reckless driving or other serious motor vehicle tickets then contact our office today at (201) 793-8018 for a free consultation.
RECKLESS DRIVING LAW IN NEW JERSEY 39:4-96
The reckless driving law in New Jersey is found under title 39:4-96. The statute reads that reckless driving is when a person drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard for the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property. It is clear from the language above the New Jersey legislature and courts take reckless driving very seriously. In fact, the punishments for reckless driving can even rival some criminal offenses in New Jersey. This why most people who walk into court facing a reckless driving offense without an attorney to represent them are in for a rude wake up call and often times can walk out with several points on their record, a suspension of their driver’s license and even the possibility of jail if someone was injured.
PENALTIES FOR RECKLESS DRIVING
Like most offenses, the penalties for a reckless driving conviction depend on the circumstances and increase based on the number of times you have received the ticket in the past. For your reading convenience we have broken down the punishments below:
First offense. A first offense for reckless driving carries up to 60 days in jail and you can receive fines ranging from $50 to $200 based on the courts discretion.
Second or Subsequent offense. A second or subsequent conviction for reckless driving offense carries up to three months in jail and/or $100 to $500 in fines.
***Moreover it should be noted that a conviction for reckless driving is regularly accompanied by a suspension of your driver’s license which can easily last for several months. Although the statute is not explicit on the recommended or mandatory suspension, municipal judges exercise free range with their discretion on when and how long to suspend drivers for reckless driving under State v. Moran, 202 N.J. 311 (2010).)
RECKLESS DRIVING ATTORNEY IN UNION CITY
As you can tell from the information above, if you have been ticketed for reckless driving it is a serious matter that can carry severe penalties and for that reason an experienced lawyer is normally strongly recommended. At William Proetta Criminal Law our defense attorneys have handled hundreds of cases involving reckless driving and related traffic offenses. We know what goes into defending these traffic matters and how to challenge the state’s evidence against you in order to negotiate and downgrade or dismissal of your reckless driving ticket. If you would like to learn more about how we may be able to help you fight your reckless driving ticket, then call us today for a free initial consultation with one of our lawyers.