Lavallette DUI Attorney
Lavallette NJ Second Offense DWI Attorney
If you or a loved one have been charged with an Ocean County or Lavallette Refusal or Driving While Intoxicated, then it is critical that you understand the penalties and consequences associated with the charges you are facing. In New Jersey, DWI and Refusal cases are treated severely by the courts. A first offense Lavallette DWI or DUI alleging Blood Alcohol Content of .08% to .99% involves:
1) A mandatory three-month ignition interlock device,
2) An $800-$1000 fine PLUS a $1000 surcharge for three years, and
3) A discretionary prison term of up to thirty days.
Notably, the ignition interlock device period increases to seven to twelve months for a BAC of 0.10% to 0.15%. If the driver’s BAC is at or above 0.15%, then mandatory license suspension is required for 4 to 6 months, followed by an ignition interlock device for nine months to fifteen months.
Furthermore, a second offense Lavallette DWI carries with it a mandatory one to two-year license suspension and increased monetary fines and assessments as well as a mandatory prison sentence from 48 hours to ninety days. A third offense DWI carries an eight-year license suspension and up to 180 days in prison at the judge’s discretion.
Additional penalties involving a DUI or DWI offense include:
- Community Service
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
- Mandatory Alcohol and Drug Counseling Programs
In addition to the penalties and fines set forth above, New Jersey also penalizes related offenses such as:
- Driving or riding with an open container
- Driving with a DUI suspension
- Driving while possessing drugs
An experienced DWI attorney is an invaluable resource when fighting a driving while intoxicated case. At the William Proetta Criminal Law we have successfully defended hundreds of clients facing DWI charges in New Jersey. If you would like to discuss the details of your case or lay out a case strategy with an experienced DWI defense lawyer, please contact our office at (848) 238-2100 or stop by our local Toms River, NJ office down the street on Route 9 for a free consultation.
Underage DWI in Lavallette, New Jersey
Despite its tiny size of just under one square mile, the Borough of Lavallette is a large source of DWI arrests in Ocean County every year. This is due to its popularity as a Jersey Shore recreation location. There is large presence of state and local police who patrol the populated business parks, bars, and restaurants. The high volume of police activity thus contributes to a high volume of Lavallette NJ drug DUI and DWI arrests. All DWI charges are heard in Lavallette Boro Municipal Court. Such cases may take months and even up to a year. Remember to arrive on time for your scheduled appearances and be prepared to stay for long hours, as court can be extremely busy. Also, make sure that a competent DWI attorney accompanies you to best assist with the process and protect your rights.
Lavallette Drunk Driving Lawyer
The attorneys at the William Proetta Criminal Law take great pride in their unique qualifications in regard to the technical requirements that must be established and followed by New Jersey State and Lavallette police officers. In fact, our founding attorney Will Proetta is certified in Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST). He is also certified by Drager Industries in the operation and maintenance of the Alcotest 7110, the breath test device used by police to measure BAC. These credentials are uniquely valuable when it comes to gauging the strength of the state’s case against you. Contact us today at (848) 238-2100 to speak with an experienced defense attorney about your case, and remember our main office is down the street on Route 9 in Toms River.