MDMA, Ecstasy, Molly Attorney in Middlesex County
Ecstasy Offenses in Middlesex County NJ
Defense Lawyers for MDMA Charges in New Brunswick NJ
Molly, sometimes referred to as X, MDMA, or Ecstasy, has long been a popular drug, and its popularity has only increased in recent years. Molly is a hit with ravers, clubgoers, and participants in the party scene throughout New Jersey. Popularity notwithstanding, Ecstasy is classified as an illegal controlled dangerous substance (CDS) under New Jersey law. This means that possession or distribution of any amount of MDMA violates NJ law and can result in drug charges with severe consequences. If you have been arrested for Molly possession or intent to distribute, you should seek help from a skilled lawyer who can present your best defense.
Our team of experienced Middlesex County criminal defense lawyers at William Proetta Criminal Law have been defending clients charged with Ecstasy and other drug offenses for years and we know what can be done to minimize or avoid the penalties you are facing. From our local offices in Edison, we frequently represent clients in courts in New Brunswick, Woodbridge, Piscataway, East Brunswick, Metuchen, South Brunswick, Carteret, and throughout Middlesex Couunty. To discuss your pending MDMA charges and how we can help, contact us at (732) 659-9600 today for a free consultation.
Schedule I CDS: Ecstasy – Molly – MDMA
Ecstasy, also known as Molly or MDMA, seems to be everywhere these days. According to the CDC and Drug Abuse Warning Network, emergency room visits related to MDMA doubled between 2004 and 2013. United States Customs reported an approximately 14-fold increase in MDMA seizures at the border around that same time period. Some suspect that Molly has become increasingly accessible due to its availability online. Regardless of the reason, Molly use is very prevalent and still increasing.
The amount of the active drug ingredient in Ecstasy pills varies dramatically from pill to pill in a batch. The MDMA chemical is scientifically titled “3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine” and its actual amount in a given pill can vary by as much as 250%. This means that you may have difficulty predicting how Molly will affect you or how much is too much. Given the different potency of the pills that a person may be ingesting, it is entirely possible that someone could end up in the ER after taking Molly.
New Jersey law recognizes the possible danger of MDMA, which is the chief reason it remains illegal. MDMA is classified as a Schedule I controlled dangerous subtance (CDS), which means it has a high potential for abuse and no current accepted medical use in treatment in the U.S. As with most street drugs, law enforcement aggressively targets Molly users and distributors, and state prosecutors will likely file serious charges against you if you are arrested for an ecstasty offense.
MDMA Possession Charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(1)
New Jersey law prohibits you from possessing Molly, even for your own personal use. If police catch you with Molly in your pocket, in your car, at your table in a nightclub, or otherwise in your possession, you may be charged with a violation of New Jersey’s controlled dangerous substances law, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10. Possession of even a small amount of Molly/ecstasy/MDMA/X is considered a third degree crime in New Jersey. If you are convicted, you can face up to $35,000 in fines and up to 5 years in prison, as well as suspension of your driver’s license for 6 months. Penalties can increase if you are found with more of the drug, or, even worse, you could be charged with possession with intent to distribute.
Ecstasy Distribution Charge violates N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5
If police find you with a significant amount of Ecstasy in your possession; if they find Molly packaged in individual baggies that indicate you may sell them on the street, at a nightclub or through any other means; or if they find MDMA along with scales, large amounts of cash, pill presses, or any other drug distribution paraphernalia, you may be charged with possession of MDMA with intent to distribute.
If you are found with half an ounce or less of Ecstasy, an intent to distribute arrest will typically result in charges for a third degree crime, exposing you to tens of thousands of dollars in fines and up to 5 years in prison. If you possess more than a half ounce but less than five ounces, you can face $150,000 in fines and up to 10 years in prison on a second degree possession with intent to distribute charge. If you possess over five ounces, you can be charged with first degree possession with intent to distribute, an incredibly serious charge that carries hundreds of thousands of dollars in potential fines and up to 20 years in prison.
Get Help from an Edison MDMA Attorney Today
If you are facing charges for Molly in Middlesex County or anywhere else in New Jersey, you should consult an attorney as soon as you can. Contact our drug defense lawyers now at (732) 659-9600 to protect your rights and your future. We can assist you free of charge with an initial consultation or schedule an appointment to meet with you at our local Middlesex County office.