Driving with a Suspended License Attorney in Middlesex County
Piscataway NJ Suspended License Lawyer
Traffic Ticket Defense Attorneys in Edison, New Jersey
Driving while suspended on New Jersey roadways is a serious motor vehicle charge that may result in the loss of your driving privileges as well as jail time for subsequent offenses. In recent years, the State of New Jersey has undertaken an effort to “crack down” on these by aggressively prosecuting suspended driver charges. An experienced traffic defense attorney can help you avoid many if not all of these consequences. The attorneys at the Law Offices of William Proetta Criminal Law have represented clients against thousands of municipal court and motor vehicle charges over the years including DUI and driving while suspended tickets. We defend clients throughout Middlesex County and New Jersey including Sayreville, Old Bridge, Woodbridge, New Brunswick, South Plainfield, Perth Amboy, and Helmetta. If you or your loved one has been arrested and subsequently charged with driving with a suspended license, then contact our office in Edison today at (732) 659-9600 for a free consultation with an experienced traffic defense attorney.
Our firm is committed to earning your trust and becoming your “go to” for life. Here’s how one client described their experience with us:
Awesome lawyer! – 5 stars
“I’ve used mr. Proetta for many cases and everytime I’ve used him he has dismissed my case or got me no points even when I was facing 6 points. I have used him for driving without a license, speeding, careless driving, no registration, and he’s always got me out of it. I have used other lawyers before, but he definitely has given me the best results. I 100% recommend him for anyone who is in need of a lawyer who will help keep your license or make sure you dont accumulate points. He’s also easy to get in touch with and will answer you if you have any questions. Not like many other lawyers who get your money and just see you and talk to you the day of your court date. He’s definitely my go to guy!” – Willem
You can read more of our client reviews on Avvo.com and contact us anytime at (732) 659-9600 to speak with a knowledgeable traffic lawyer about your case.
Driving with a Suspended License N.J.S.A. 39:3-40
The New Jersey statute N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 governs the violation of driving while suspended. We have provided in pertinent part below for your convenience:
No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition.
No person whose motor vehicle registration has been revoked shall operate or permit the operation of such motor vehicle during the period of such revocation.
Consequences of Driving While Suspended in New Jersey
The penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey according to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 are as follows:
|First Offense Driving Suspended||• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension |
• $500 fine
|Second Offense Driving Suspended||• Mandatory 1 – 5 days in county jail |
• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension
• $750 fine
|Third or Subsequent Driving Suspended||• Mandatory ten (10) days in county jail |
• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension
• $1000 fine
As shown in the chart above, driving with a suspended license in New Jersey can be a very serious offense that can drastically impact your life. A loss of driving privileges can be extremely inconvenient if you need to drive to and from work or school, or are responsible for ensuring that family members get to and from work or school. Additionally, a conviction for driving with a suspended license will lead to costly insurance surcharges, insurance points, and a permanent record on your driver’s abstract. Often, a majority of our clients truly did not even realize they were operating their vehicles on a suspended license at the time of the incident. This is due to the fact that licenses are unknowingly suspended due to unpaid parking tickets, failure to appear in court, or missing a mandatory surcharge payment. Moreover, a conviction for driving while suspended or revoked may be magnified if the suspension was due to a serious charge such as a DWI (driving while intoxicated). If you are found guilty of driving while suspended for DUI you will serve mandatory jail time of up to ninety (90) days and face an additional loss of license of one to two years.
Contact Sayreville NJ Driving While Suspended Lawyers for Your Defense
An experienced traffic defense attorney can work with the prosecutor and navigate the court system on your behalf to get your charges downgraded or even dismissed altogether. If you or your loved one has been charged with driving while suspended then contact our office today at (732) 659-9600 for a free consultation and case strategy session with one of our highly knowledgeable traffic offense lawyers. Our office is conveniently located in Edison and we are available during regular business hours and are happy to meet with you on nights and weekends upon request.