South Brunswick NJ Simple Assault Lawyer

South Brunswick Assault Attorney

South Brunswick in Middlesex County, New Jersey, was recently ranked 22nd for the “Best Places to Live” in the United States and the town’s National Night Out event was ranked 5th nationally by the Town Watch Association. To maintain its reputation as a highly desirable place to live and visit, police keep a careful watch over all happenings in the town, frequently arresting people for a broad range of alleged criminal offenses. Among the many reasons people are charged with crimes in South Brunswick, conduct considered “simple assault” is routinely a cause for such charges. When you or a loved one has been charged with simple assault in South Brunswick, seeking sound legal advice is a great next step before your case is heard in South Brunswick Municipal Court. At William Proetta Criminal Law, our attorneys are dedicated to providing the best possible defense for individuals facing simple assault charges in South Brunswick and neighboring towns in Middlesex County. Contact us today for a free consultation at (732) 659-9600 if you would like personalized help with a South Brunswick simple assault case

What is Simple Assault in South Brunswick, New Jersey?

Simple assault is one of the most commonly charged disorderly persons offenses in South Brunswick and New Jersey as a whole. The law pertaining to this type of assault offense covers an array of behavior, all of which fall under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1. For example, you can be charged with simple assault if you have been involved with anything from a scuffle at a local bar to an alleged incident involving domestic violence. In a case involving simple assault, the statute, N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1, notes that a person is guilty of simple assault if he commits any of the three prohibited acts. Specifically, a person may be guilty if he:

1) attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly cause bodily injury to another person;
2) negligently causes bodily injury to another person using a deadly weapon; or
3) acts in a manner that causes someone to be in fear of immediate injury.

Unfortunately, the statute is relatively all-encompassing and causes many unsuspecting people with general disagreements gone wrong to be charged with simple assault.

Punishments for Simple Assault in South Brunswick

If you have been charged with a simple assault in South Brunswick, this means that you have been charged with a disorderly persons offense. A disorderly persons offense can subject you to jail time and a criminal record under New Jersey law. If convicted of simple assault, you can face up to 180 days in the Middlesex County Jail. Additionally, the judge can order you to pay up to $1,000 in fines, a $75.00 Safe Neighborhood Fund Fee, a $50 Victims of Crime Compensation fee, $33 in court costs. You can also be placed on probation and forced to attend anger management or similar programs. On top of everything else, the offense will show up on your criminal record and can spell devastating consequences for your future.

South Brunswick Simple Assault Court Case

If arrested for simple assault in South Brunswick, you will be required to appear in South Brunswick Municipal Court located at 40 Ridge Road Monmouth Junction, NJ 08852 at the time and date provided. You may be released after arrest and processing, but if you have been charged with simple assault in a domestic violence case, you will be lodged in the Middlesex County jail until you have bail hearing. Either way, the case is eventually heard in municipal court in South Brunswick.

Domestic Violence Simple Assault Charges in South Brunswick NJ

Often, simple assault charges arise from arguments that may or may not escalate into violence. A simple assault charge may come about when one party says they were hurt in some way or that they were in fear of injury. One of the most frequent situations in which our clients have been charged with simple assault is in domestic violence cases. In fact, this type of case happens regularly because when the person is charged, the law does not differentiate who did what first. Self-defense is an issue for trial and the police often charge people first and let the court decide later. Often, all it takes to be charged is for the alleged victim to say that they were in fear of injury. When simple assault occurs in a domestic violence situation, a corresponding restraining order will be handled separately in the Family Division of the Middlesex County Superior Court.

South Brunswick Simple Assault Lawyer can Help

If you have been charged with a simple assault in South Brunswick, NJ, do not go to court without support. Our team has had great success defending these cases and we are here to assist you with limiting your overall exposure to the harsh sentence you face. We also defend clients facing restraining orders for simple assault in South Brunswick, and are thoroughly prepared to help you prepare and execute your best defense. Contact our office today at (732) 659-9600. When you are arrested for simple assault, our team can help.