First Offense DWI Attorney in Ocean County
First Offense Drunk Driving Attorneys in Toms River, NJ
Whether it is your first offense DWI, second offense DWI, or third Driving While Intoxicated charge in Ocean County, New Jersey, the penalties associated with each subsequent offense are increasingly severe. Please refer to our Ocean County DWI Resource and DUI Penalties pages for more information on Driving While Intoxicated or DUI Law in New Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Regardless of whether it is your first offense, second offense, or third offense DUI or DWI, it is important to seek out and retain a skilled and experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney. At the Law Offices of William Proetta Criminal Law, our attorneys dedicate a large portion of their practice exclusively to defending clients who face DWI charges, including those for 1st offense DUI, in Lakehurst, Stafford Township, Ocean Township, Brick, Jackson, Manchester, Seaside, Point Pleasant, and Lakewood. For a free initial consultation with an Ocean County DWI lawyer about your specific case, contact our Toms River office at (848) 238-2100.
Ocean Township NJ First Offense Driving While Intoxicated Penalties
The penalties associated with a first offense of driving while intoxicated in New Jersey depend upon the level of intoxication. The legal limit in New Jersey is .08% Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). As such, if you or your loved one is charged with drunk driving and your BAC is between .08% and .10%, then you face a fine of $250 to $400, a three-month ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle, and up to thirty days in jail. The penalties associated with a first offense DWI significantly increase if your BAC was greater than .10% at the time of arrest. In this case, you or your loved one faces between seven months and one year of ignition interlock in your vehicle, $300 to $500 in fines, and up to thirty days in prison. Furthermore, you will be required to spend 12-48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. If your BAC is above .15% for a first DWI, your license will be suspended for between 4 and 6 months, after which an interlock device will be required for 9 months to 15 months.
Contact a Jackson NJ First Offense DWI Lawyer Today
As you can see, the penalties associated with a First Offense DWI are serious and increase in severity the greater the BAC. Therefore it is necessary to hire a lawyer who will fight the prosecution’s every move against you. Will Proetta, Esq., our firm’s founding lawyer is certified in the correct use and maintenance of the Alcotest 7110, which is the very device used by New Jersey law enforcement to measure BAC. Further, he is a certified instructor on Standardized Field Sobriety Testing. These unique qualifications allow him to carefully scrutinize the state’s case against you as well as the arresting officer’s conduct. To build a case strategy with an experienced Ocean County First Offense DWI lawyer, call our Toms River office at (848) 238-2100.
For more New Jersey DWI information, please feel free to visit our Ocean County DWI Resource and Ocean County DWI Penalties pages.