New Jersey DWI Penalties

New Jersey DWI Penalties

DUI Attorneys in Middlesex County, New Jersey

New Jersey takes DWI & Refusal offenses very seriously and this is directly reflected in the extremely harsh penalties such as a mandatory license suspension or ignition interlock device, no matter your offense or BAC reading. However, the length of suspension and other penalties such as an installation of an interlock device will vary depending on certain factors. The chart below provides a basic breakdown of each offense and its’ accompanying penalties. You can visit the link above each chart for an even more detailed explanation of the penalties for a first, second or third DWI offense.

First DWI Offense in New Jersey

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)Ignition Interlock DeviceFines and AssessmentsPrison Term
.08% – .99%Three (3) Months$805- $1005 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)Up to 30 days
.10% – .14%Seven (7) to Twelve (12) Months$755- $905 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)Up to 30 days
.15% and higherNine (9) to Fifteen (15) Months, following License Suspension for Four (4) to Six (6) Months$755- $905 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)Up to 30 days

In addition to the period for the ignition interlock device, there is also a mandatory license suspension during the time prior to your interlock device installation.

Second DWI Offense in New Jersey

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

License Suspension

Fines and Assessments

Prison Term

.08% and higher

One (1) to Two (2) Years

$1,055- $1,555 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)

48 hours- 90 days

In addition to the period of license suspension, installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 2 years to 4 years after license restoration is also required.

Third or Subsequent DWI Offense in New Jersey

*within 10 years of 2nd offense

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

License Suspension

Fines and Assessments

Prison Term

.08% and higher

Eight (8) Years

$1,555 in fines plus $1,000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)

180 days

In addition to the period of license suspension, installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 2 years to 4 years after license restoration is also required.

Other less obvious penalties include:

  • Mandatory drug or alcohol counseling programs
  • Family and work constraints due to loss of license
  • Loss of income as a result of jail time or loss of license
  • Implementation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Damaged personal and professional reputation

DWI Punishments for Commercial Drivers

Many commercial truck drivers depend on a CDL to earn a living. Without a commercial driver’s license, you will not be able to operate a truck in New Jersey or anywhere else for that matter. This is why a DWI conviction can be extremely bad news for commercial drivers. NJ law imposes mandatory license suspension for any commercially licensed driver who is convicted of a DWI offense. A first offense is punishable by license suspension for 3 months to 1 year for your regular license and 1 year for your CD. A second offense will result in an automatic lifetime suspension of your commercial driver’s license and a 2-year basic license suspension. It is also important to understand that commercial drivers are subject to stricter standards than typical motorists. While the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) threshold for the average motorist is .08 percent, the legal limit for commercial drivers is just .04 percent. This means that it is far easier for a truck driver to be charged with a DWI offense.

Contact Our DWI Defense Attorneys for More Information

If you would like to learn more about how we can help you combat your DWI charges in Middlesex County, then contact our office at (732) 659-9600 for a free consultation with an experienced defense attorney who can answer all your questions and address any concerns. We have representatives available 24/7 to answer your call. You can also follow the links provided below to access additional information about issues and locations that may coincide with your case.