New Jersey Marijuana Possession Statute: N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10
Ship Bottom NJ Marijuana Possession Lawyer
As you can see from our Marijuana Possession page, the penalties for Possession of Marijuana in New Jersey can be very harsh. At the Law Offices of William Proetta Criminal Law, our lawyers handle simple possession and possession of marijuana with intent to distribute charges throughout Ocean County, including in Ship Bottom, Point Pleasant, Seaside Heights, Seaside Park, and Beach Haven. Please feel free to read New Jersey’s marijuana possession law in its entirety below. For a free consultation with a New Jersey marijuana possession defense lawyer about your case, please contact our Toms River office at (848) 238-2100.
Possession of Marijuana in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10
N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10 governs possession of marijuana in New Jersey and provides in pertinent part:
§ 2C:35-10. Possession, use or being under the influence, or failure to make lawful disposition
a. It is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by P.L.1970, c.226. Any person who violates this section with respect to:
(3) Possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or more than five grams of hashish is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree, except that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3, a fine of up to $ 25,000.00 may be imposed; or
(4) Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or five grams or less of hashish is a disorderly person.
Any person who commits any offense defined in this section while on any property used for school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board, or within 1,000 feet of any such school property or a school bus, or while on any school bus, and who is not sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall, in addition to any other sentence which the court may impose, be required to perform not less than 100 hours of community service.
b. Any person who uses or who is under the influence of any controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, for a purpose other than the treatment of sickness or injury as lawfully prescribed or administered by a physician is a disorderly person.
In a prosecution under this subsection, it shall not be necessary for the State to prove that the accused did use or was under the influence of any specific drug, but it shall be sufficient for a conviction under this subsection for the State to prove that the accused did use or was under the influence of some controlled dangerous substance, counterfeit controlled dangerous substance, or controlled substance analog, by proving that the accused did manifest physical and physiological symptoms or reactions caused by the use of any controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog.
c. Any person who knowingly obtains or possesses a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog in violation of subsection a. of this section and who fails to voluntarily deliver the substance to the nearest law enforcement officer is guilty of a disorderly persons offense. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to preclude a prosecution or conviction for any other offense defined in this title or any other statute.
Contact a Beach Haven NJ Marijuana Possession Attorney for a Free Consultation
If you or a loved one is facing charges for possession of marijuana in Toms River, Brick, Lakewood, Manchester, Jackson, or elsewhere in Ocean County, New Jersey, it is essential to consult with an experienced marijuana defense attorney as soon as possible. There are many options available to you, including diversionary programs and defense strategies that can lead to the dismissal of your charges. Our Ocean County marijuana lawyers use every tool at our disposal to successfully resolve your case. Call us anytime at our offices in Toms River to discuss your marijuana charges and receive a free consultation: (848) 238-2100