Third Offense DWI Attorney in Ocean County
3rd Offense DWI Attorneys in Lacey Township, NJ
Whether it is your third offense Driving While Intoxicated, second offense DUI, or first offense DWI charge, it is vastly important for you to understand that the penalties associated with the offenses are grave. For your convenience, you may refer to our Ocean County DWI Resource or New Jersey DWI Penalties pages for more information on Driving While Intoxicated or DUI Law in New Jersey under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Regardless of whether it is your first offense, second offense, or third offense DUI or DWI, then it is crucial that you hire a qualified and skilled NJ DWI attorney. At the Law Offices of William Proetta Criminal Law, our attorneys dedicate a substantial portion of their practice exclusively to defending clients who face DWI charges, including those for third offense DWI, in Lakewood, Lacey Township, Toms River, Seaside Heights, Point Pleasant Borough, and Point Pleasant Beach. For a free initial consultation about your Ocean County DWI charges, contact our Toms River office at (848) 238-2100.
Penalties for Third Offense DWI in New Jersey
If you or your loved one has been charged with a Third or Subsequent DWI offense in New Jersey, then it is important for you to IMMEDIATELY seek the assistance of qualified and experienced legal representation. The penalties associated with a Third DWI Offense include $1000 in fines, up to 180 days in jail, and an eight-year loss of driver’s license. The Third DWI offense may, in some cases, also result in permanent loss of driving privileges in New Jersey. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car for between 2 years and 4 years after your license is restored. Additional inconveniences and hidden consequences of Third Offense DWI charges include difficulties in transportation for work and family events, the “stigma” associated with conviction, and other educational and professional difficulties. However, if one of your previous DWI convictions was a Refusal charge, then it is possible that your third offense may only classify as a second offense. This technicality is only one reason to seek out a skilled NJ DWI lawyer today.
Contact a Manchester NJ Third Offense DWI Lawyer to Discuss Your Case
As you can see, the penalties associated with a Third Offense DWI are quite severe. As a result, it is likely necessary to hire a lawyer who will fight the prosecutor’s case against you. Will Proetta, Esq., our firm’s founding lawyer is dually certified in the use and maintenance of the Alcotest 7110, the same device used by New Jersey police officers to measure BAC. Additionally, he is a certified Standardized Field Sobriety Testing instructor. These unique credentials allow him to scrutinize the prosecution’s case and arresting officer’s conduct by challenging the validity of the traffic stop, the arresting officer’s use of field sobriety testing and/or Alcotest 7110 machine, and all other areas of protocol in which a thorough understanding of the technicalities of DWI arrests are needed. To build a case strategy with an experienced Ocean County Third Offense DWI lawyer, call us at (848) 238-2100 for a free consultation or visit our Toms River office.