Second Offense DWI Attorney in Ocean County
Second Offense DWI Attorneys in Jackson, New Jersey
Regardless of whether it is your second Driving While Intoxicated offense, first offense Drug DUI, or third DWI charge, the penalties associated with each may spell life-altering implications. Please refer to our Ocean County DWI Resource and DUI Penalties pages for more information on Driving While Intoxicated or DUI Law in New Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Regardless of the specific offense, it is important to hire an aggressive and experienced NJ DWI defense lawyer. At the Law Offices of William Proetta Criminal Law, our attorneys dedicate a major portion of their practice exclusively to defending clients who face 2nd offense DWI charges in Jackson, Brick Township, Lakewood, Barnegat, Little Egg Harbor, Plumsted Township, and Lacey Township. For a free initial consultation with an Ocean County DWI defense attorney, contact our Toms River office at (848) 238-2100.
Penalties for Second Offense DWI in New Jersey
If you have been charged with your second DWI offense in New Jersey, the penalties will be significantly heightened. Therefore, you are likely facing monetary fees between $500 and $1000, a one-year to two-year license suspension, up to 48 hours of jail time, and 30 days of community service. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car for between 2 years and 4 years after your license is restored. However, an experienced and aggressive DWI attorney may be able to minimize a 2nd DWI charge by seeking to have it classified as a first offense, or even defeat the charges outright.
Contact a Lakewood NJ Second Offense DWI Attorney for a Free Consultation
As you can see, the penalties associated with a Second Offense DWI are grave and differ significantly from the first offense. Therefore it is necessary to hire a lawyer who will aggressively fight the state’s case against you. Will Proetta, Esq., our firm’s founding attorney is certified in the use and correct maintenance of the Alcotest 7110, which is the very device used by New Jersey police to measure BAC. Furthermore, he is a certified Standardized Field Sobriety Testing instructor. These unique qualifications allow him to carefully scrutinize the state’s case against you. He is also qualified to bring into question the arresting officer’s conduct by challenging the validity of the traffic stop, the arresting officer’s use of field sobriety testing and the Alcotest, and any other areas of protocol in which a thorough understanding of the technicalities of DWI arrests are needed. To build a case strategy with an experienced Ocean County Second Offense DWI lawyer, call us at (848) 238-2100.