NJ DWI Penalties

Jackson, NJ Second Offense DUI Attorney

Please see the following charts to get an idea of what New Jersey DWI and Refusal penalties entail.

First Offense

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)Ignition Interlock DeviceFines and AssessmentsPrison Term
.08% – .99%Three (3) Months$805- $1005 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)Up to 30 days
.10% – .14%Seven (7) to Twelve (12) Months$755- $905 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)Up to 30 days
.15% and higherNine (9) to Fifteen (15) Months, following License Suspension for Four (4) to Six (6) Months$755- $905 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)Up to 30 days

If you fail to install the interlock device in your vehicle, your license will be suspended until such time as you complete the installation of the ignition interlock device.

Second Offense

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

License Suspension

Fines and Assessments

Prison Term

.08% and higher

One (1) to Two (2) Years

$1,055- $1,555 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)

48 hours- 90 days

Upon restoration of your license, you face a mandatory interlock device for 2 to 4 years.

Third Offense (within 10 years of 2nd offense)

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

License Suspension

Fines and Assessments

Prison Term

.08% and higher

Eight (8) Years

$1,555 plus $1,500/ year surcharge

(for 3 years)

180 days

Upon restoration of your license, you face a mandatory interlock device for 2 to 4 years.

Other less obvious penalties include:

  • Mandatory drug or alcohol counseling programs
  • Family and work constraints due to loss of license
  • Loss of income as a result of jail time or loss of license
  • Implementation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Damaged personal and professional reputation

Why Choose and Experienced Ocean County DWI Defense Lawyer?

As you can see, an Ocean County DWI, Refusal, or Drug DUI is a very serious matter. The penalties incurred are multi-faceted and take years completely resolve. An aggressive, experienced, and skillful attorney may successfully change your potential outcome. At the William Proetta Criminal Law, our attorneys have successfully defended hundreds of DWI cases. In fact, Will Proetta, our firm’s founding attorney holds dual certification in the methods of detecting BAC% for the purposes of charging individuals with DWI utilized by New Jersey state and local police officers. Mr. Proetta is a certified Standardized Field Sobriety Instructor. He is also certified in the use and correct maintenance of the Alcotest 7110- the very machine used by police to detect blood-alcohol content.

Pursuant to New Jersey law, police officers and state prosecutors must adhere to strict technicalities and protocol in every stage of a DWI case; from the initial traffic stop to the final court date. Our expert understanding of the methods used by the police allows us to provide our clients with more tools for success.

Please feel free to browse our site at your leisure. Take your time in choosing your attorney. It is a very important choice. Do not worry if you do not see your town listed with our DWI pages. We are proud to serve all of Ocean County.

At the William Proetta Criminal Law, initial consultations are always free. If you retain one of our skilled attorneys, then you will enjoy unlimited face time as we map out a case strategy that is customized to your particular facts and designed to meet your unique needs. Please feel free to call us anytime to discuss your case or drop by our local Toms River office down the street. Our attorneys stand ready to assist you 24/7. Call us anytime at (848) 238-2100.