Driving Without Liability Insurance Attorney in Hudson County
NEWARK NJ DRIVING WITH NO INSURANCE LAWYER
New Jersey has the highest per capita population density in the entire country. All these people in such a small area greatly increases the percentage and risk of car accidents. In order to try and protect New Jersey’s drivers, the state has implemented a very strict statute for people caught driving without motor vehicle insurance. In fact, a charge for uninsured driver has tougher consequences than a DWI offense in some circumstances. This is because if you are found guilty of driving with no insurance you will lose your drivers license for a mandatory one (1) year – no exceptions. Moreover, the court can also order you to pay surcharges, complete community service, and even sentence you to jail. To make maters worse, New Jersey does not offer a “hardship” or conditional license for employment – once your license is suspended you cannot drive at all. If you are caught driving after the suspension you will be charge with driving while suspended and face penalties which include an additional suspension and jail time. William Proetta Criminal Law has successfully defended our clients against thousands of municipal court charges and motor vehicle violations including numerous driving without insurance tickets. We are normally able to get driving with no insurance tickets amended to lesser violation or even dismissed altogether so our clients can avoid loss of license. We represent clients throughout New Jersey including Jersey City, Hoboken, North Bergen, Newark, Weehawken, Union City, and West New York. If you would like to learn about how we can help you, then contact our office at (201) 793-8018 for a free initial consultation with an experienced driving without insurance attorney.
UNINSURED DRIVER NJ STATUTE 39:6B-2
In New Jersey, having motor vehicle insurance for you car is considered “strict liability” – which means it is not an excuse that you honestly did not know that the vehicle was uninsured. This responsibility for insurance always rests with the vehicle’s owner and or title holder – but anyone driving a car without insurance will be ticketed, you do not have to be the owner. New Jersey’s mandatory minimum requirements for auto insurance are at least $15,000 personal injury or death, $30,000 for multi-injury/death and $5,000 for damage to property, anything less is inadequate. Below we have designed a chart which breaks down the penalties for each offense of driving without insurance.
|1st Offense Driving Without Insurance|| |
|2nd or Subsequent Driving Without Insurance|| |
WEEHAWKEN NJ DRIVING WITH NO INSURANCE ATTORNEY
Municipal courts take driving with no insurance charges very seriously and a large portion have a policy of no plea bargaining whatsoever and choose to prosecute you to the fullest extent allowed under the law. Judges and prosecutors will often consider various factors including the reason for the lapse in coverage, how long you were without insurance, and whether you were properly notified of the termination of coverage. This gives our defense attorneys a lot of flexibility to craft a negotiation with the prosecution and resolve your case so you avoid a suspension. At the William Proetta Criminal Law we are very experienced in handling driving with no insurance charges and we know how to navigate the court to get the results our clients want. And if the circumstances are appropriate, we are always prepared to go to trial and put the state to the burden of proving the elements of the charge. We represent clients throughout New Jersey including Kearny, Bayonne, Bloomfield, Harrison, Secaucus, Nutley and Guttenberg. If you or a loved one has been charged with driving without insurance, contact our office today at (201) 793-8018 to speak with a defense lawyer during a free consultation or to schedule an appointment at our Jersey City office.