Expect an Increase in Jersey Shore DWI Arrests This Summer

Ocean County shore towns see a big spike in Driving While Intoxicated and Driving Under the Influence charges in the summer months due to the heavy influx of beach and vacation traffic throughout the Jersey Shore. These towns include Toms RiverBrickSeasidePoint Pleasant, and Long Beach Island Towns such as Surf CityBeach Haven, and Ship Bottom.

State and local police more heavily enforce traffic laws in an effort to discover drunk drivers as their quotas often increase during the summer months. As a result, more traffic stops lead to more arrests for DWI and DUI. Additionally, more DWI checkpoints are set up and enforced throughout Ocean County.

It is for these reasons that you and your loved ones should drive safely while travelling to the Jersey Shore this summer. A first offense DWI carries heavy penalties as New Jersey Municipal Court prosecute these charges aggressively. A First Offense DUI includes a 7-12 month loss of license, 12 hours in the IDRC, installation of the Ignition Interlock Device. New Jersey does not allow for probationary licenses for work hardship. Click here for more information on NJ DWI Penalties.

If you have been charged with a Jersey Shore DWI in Ocean or Monmouth County, please feel free to contact our experienced DWI defense attorneys. Our office is conveniently located in Toms River, NJ. Contact us for a free consultation at 732.494.7900.

William Proetta

With more than a decade of experience defending clients against criminal charges, founding partner William A. Proetta has successfully handled and tried thousands of cases, from DWI to murder. As a New Jersey native, he has focused his career on helping people in the area where he grew up, serving Middlesex, Ocean, Hudson, and Union counties.