Both the receiving stolen property and auto theft statutes are common charges for defendants stopped and arrested for auto theft or “joyriding.” Joyriding is serious and is typically charged as a 4th degree indictable or 3rd degree indictable crime depending on the circumstances. Our criminal defense lawyers represent clients for theft related crimes throughout New Jersey including Roselle Park, Linden, Scotch Plains, Hillside, Elizabeth, Springfield, Plainfield, Union Twp, and Rahway. If you would like to learn more about how we can help you, contact our office today at (908) 838-0150 for a free initial consultation. We have provided the statute for Theft by Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance under 2C:20-10 below for your convenience.
NJ Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance Charges Under 2c:20-10
a. A person commits a disorderly persons offense if, with purpose to withhold temporarily from the owner, he takes, operates, or exercises control over any means of conveyance, other than a motor vehicle, without consent of the owner or other person authorized to give consent. “Means of conveyance” includes but is not limited to motor vehicles, bicycles, motorized bicycles, boats, horses, vessels, surfboards, rafts, skimobiles, airplanes, trains, trams and trailers. It is an affirmative defense to prosecution under subsections a., b. and c. of this section that the actor reasonably believed that the owner or any other person authorized to give consent would have consented to the operation had he known of it.
b. A person commits a crime of the fourth degree if, with purpose to withhold temporarily from the owner, he takes, operates or exercises control over a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner or other person authorized to give consent.
c. A person commits a crime of the third degree if, with purpose to withhold temporarily from the owner, he takes, operates or exercises control over a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner or other person authorized to give consent and operates the motor vehicle in a manner that creates a risk of injury to any person or a risk of damage to property.
d. A person commits a crime of the fourth degree if he enters and rides in a motor vehicle knowing that the motor vehicle has been taken or is being operated without the consent of the owner or other person authorized to consent.
How Do People Get Charged With Auto Theft or Joyriding?
In a common scenario, a couple was arrested in Roselle Park in connection with a stolen car. According to police reports, the couple was pulled over while driving a 1993 Honda on the 500 block of W. Westfield Avenue after police discovered the rear license plate car was confirmed as stolen out of Clifton. The male driver, a resident of Newark, was charged with two counts of Receiving Stolen Property under 2C:20-7 for his role and had a bail set at $30,000. Meanwhile, the female passenger, a resident of Paterson, was charged with Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance under 2C:20-10 and had her bail set at $15,000. Both were taken to Union County Jail and lodged there pending their court dates.
Need a Local Defense Lawyer for Taking a Car Charges in Union NJ
The outcome of the case bears heavily on people charged with theft offenses so avoiding prison should be the number one priority when preparing for your defense. We can help with all manner of theft charges that you may be facing in Union County and statewide in New Jersey. Get personalized assistance by calling (908) 838-0150 to speak with a criminal defense lawyer in a free consultation today.