Driving Without Insurance Attorney in Middlesex County
East Brunswick NJ Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
Defense Attorneys for Uninsured Driver Tickets in Middlesex County, New Jersey
Driving without insurance is possibly the most severe motor vehicle violation under NJ traffic law. This is due to the severe penalties associated with the violation. If you or a loved one is found guilty of operating a motor vehicle without insurance, then the consequences that you face will include a mandatory one year loss of license for a period of one (1) year. Additionally, you may be ordered to perform community service, pay surcharges, and even face county jail time. Unfortunately, New Jersey does not offer any “hardship” or work license program for individuals convicted of driving without insurance. This means that the suspension period is absolute. Furthermore, if you are caught driving while suspended then you face additional penalties including further loss of license.
The Law Offices of William Proetta Criminal Law has successfully defended clients against a wide array of municipal court charges and motor vehicle violations including driving without insurance. Often, our attorneys are able to get driving without insurance charges amended or even dismissed altogether. In these cases, our clients avoid loss of license. We represent clients throughout Middlesex County and New Jersey including Carteret, Metuchen, Perth Amboy, South Brunswick, Piscataway, North Brunswick, and Plainsboro. To explore the possibility of representation, contact our office at (732) 659-9600 for a free initial consultation with an experienced driving without insurance attorney.
N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 Driving without Insurance in New Jersey
New Jersey law operates under a “strict liability” theory for motor vehicle insurance. This means that a driver without insurance may not use the excuse that he or she did not know that the vehicle was uninsured. The responsibility in these cases always rests with the owner or title-holder of the vehicle. However, any person who drives a vehicle is subject to being ticketed for N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 driving without insurance if that person is operating another’s car that is not properly insured. New Jersey law requires that auto insurance must cover at least $15,000 personal injury or death, $30,000 for multi-injury/death and $5,000 for damage to property. Anything less is inadequate. The purpose behind this driving without insurance statute is to encourage the public to purchase motor vehicle insurance in order to make New Jersey’s roadways and drivers safer. It is for these reasons that the court will often consider multiple factors on how it will prosecute the charge including: the reason for the lapse in coverage, how long you were without insurance, and whether you were properly notified of the termination of coverage.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in New Jersey
|1st Offense Driving Without Insurance|| |
|2nd or Subsequent Driving Without Insurance|| |
Contact a Monroe NJ Driving With No Insurance Attorney to Discuss Your Case
When it comes to fighting serious traffic violations, the experience of an aggressive municipal court defense lawyer can make a huge difference in how your case is ultimately resolved. At William Proetta Criminal Law, our traffic defense attorneys understand the court system as well as what works and, more importantly, what does not work. If the court takes a hard stance on your uninsured case then it is incumbent upon you to fight back. Our lawyers will put the state to their burden of establishing the elements and all of their proofs at trial, which can be a daunting task for the prosecution. If you or a loved one is facing a driving with no insurance violation, contact our office in Edison today for a free consultation in which we will discuss the facts of your case and build a customized case strategy designed to meet your needs. We have representatives available 24/7 to answer your calls. Simply call (732) 659-9600 for immediate assistance.