In New Jersey, most drivers are subject to a blood alcohol content limit of 0.08 percent. Having a BAC at or above that limit means that a driver can automatically be charged with DUI. Drivers under the age of 21 are subject to a zero-tolerance policy under New Jersey law, meaning that any detectable alcohol in their system can lead to a DUI charge. Commercial drivers also have a DUI limit of 0.04 percent while on duty.
However, a driver who has a BAC below the legal limit can still be charged with DUI if the arresting officer determines that their intoxication has rendered them unable to safely operate a motor vehicle.