Charged with Ecstasy in Ocean County, New Jersey?
MDMA, also known as Ecstasy or Molly, has become one of the most popular party drugs in New Jersey. It is also illegal to possess MDMA under New Jersey law, which is why people are charged with possession of ecstasy on a regular basis in Ocean County, NJ. For example, Lakehurst Police recently pulled over a vehicle with a broken brake light and determined they had probable cause to search the vehicle. The search revealed MDMA, a hypodermic needle, and a bottle of urine. A female passenger in the vehicle admitted that she planned to sell the bottle of urine to a friend to help that individual pass a drug test. She was subsequently arrested and charged with possession of MDMA, possession of a hypodermic needle, possession of drug paraphernalia, and distribution of urine with intent to defraud a drug test.
Possession of MDMA is a serious crime in New Jersey with exposure to jail time, heavy fines, and a criminal record. Here’s what you need to know about criminal charges for ecstasy in New Jersey. You can also contact the experienced criminal defense attorneys at William Proetta Criminal Law at (848) 238-2100 for additional information. We provide consultations free of charge.
What is MDMA?
MDMA stands for methylenedioxymethamphetamine and it is the active ingredient in the drugs Ecstasy and “Molly”—the street name for a powdered form of MDMA that touts a higher degree of purity than many other forms of ecstasy, which can often contain other chemicals unknown to the consumer.
The drug is a stimulant and hallucinogen. Side effects of MDMA include paranoia, depression, anxiety, lack of concentration, irritability, dizziness, impaired balance, restless legs, and jaw clenching. Some serious side effects include heat stroke, hyponatremia, or complications caused by consuming another unknown drug contained in MDMA that is not pure.
What Are the Penalties for Possession of MDMA in New Jersey?
MDMA is a Schedule I drug and possession of MDMA is an indictable crime in New Jersey, similar to a felony in other states. Under New Jersey law, mere possession of MDMA—without the intent to distribute—is a third degree crime. The penalties for this crime include up to 5 years of imprisonment and up to $35,000 in fines. If you possess MDMA with the intent to distribute ½ ounce or less, it is also a third degree offense with potential imprisonment of up to 5 years, but with fines of up to $75,000.
It is a second degree offense to possess MDMA with the intent to distribute between ½ ounce and 5 ounces. The potential penalties for this offense include a term of imprisonment of up to 10 years and fines of up to $150,000. Possession of over 5 ounces of MDMA with the intent to distribute is a first degree offense that carries a potential term of imprisonment of up to 20 years and fines of up to $500,000.
As with every Schedule I drug, if you are caught with MDMA on school property, a required sentence of 100 hours of community service will be imposed in addition to any other sentence ordered by the court
Possession of Molly Lawyers in Toms River, NJ
If you are charged with possession of MDMA or possession of ecstasy with the intent to distribute in Ocean County, NJ, you are facing the potential of significant jail time among other severe consequences. It is vital to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer to review your case and represent you. Depending on the facts of your case, you may have several defenses available to you. Your lawyer can review your case to determine if any of the evidence against you was improperly obtained and can potentially be excluded. For a free consultation with a knowledgeable drug defense lawyer, call our firm today at (848) 238-2100 or contact us online for additional information. We appear in courts throughout Ocean County on a regular basis, including in Point Pleasant, Seaside, Toms River, Lavallette, Stafford Township, Lacey, and Brick, NJ.